Hugs from Orphans

I’ve had a hard time deciding what to post about the trip – do I post it all at once or each day at a time. I still haven’t decided. It’s been hard to verbalize exactly what happened in Guatemala. As we talked as a team, we talked about how it would be hard to really tell people about the trip, that you just kind of had to be there, but Ronne did a great job. If you haven’t already, read her blog. As I read it after

returning, I was in tears just remembering it.

What do I miss most about Guatemala? Besides my team, I miss hugs from orphans. If you haven’t been hugged by an orphan, you should. Get on a plane to anywhere and show up at an orphanage and I guarantee you’ll get at least 5 or 10. I imagine that it would be a similar hug when meeting your sponsored child. It’s a tight hug that doesn’t let go. They’re desperate for love. They’re desperate for loving touch. I miss their kisses. I miss hearing “Otra vez” (again) over and over from a three-year-old who wants to be flipped or “trust fall” from a window sill. I miss their smiles. I miss their enthusiasm about whatever we were doing. I miss being every orphans best friend just because I have a digital camera. I just plain miss them.

So, find yourself some friends (or people you don’t know) and board a plane to go love on some orphans. You’ll love them and be frustrated you can’t do more. You’ll cry over them even though you can’t pronounce their names. And you’ll come back changed.

Over the next few days, I’ll try to post about the various aspects of my trip, but words will never do justice. Until then, you can view some of the pictures from out trip.

One thought on “Hugs from Orphans

Leave a comment